Louth Minors Overcome Offaly In Extra Time Thriller

Leinster Minor Championship Round One

Louth 6-11 – Offaly 2-17

Louth and Offaly played out an epic encounter in St Mary’s Ardee on Wednesday evening in the Leinster Minor Championship opening round. Extra time was needed to separate the sides with Louth prevailing and securing the spoils.

In an evenly matched opening half, Offaly led by a single score at the break 1-06 to 1-05. However, Louth outscored the visitors by 2-03 to 0-03 in the third quarter to lead by 3-08 to 1-09 at the second half water break. In a score fuelled final quarter, neither side wished to relent and it ended all square at full time, Louth 4-09 to 2-15.

In extra time, Louth grabbed two vital goals which pushed them in front and ensured they finished with the win on a 6-11 to 2-17 scoreline.

Seona Halligan hit the net twice for Martin Duffy’s squad while Roisin Maguire, Rachel Leonard and Abi Keenan also raised green flags for Louth’s opening round victory.

Scorers: Louth: Roisin Maguire 1-04, Seona Halligan 2-00, Rachel Leonard 1-03, Abi Keenan 1-01, Ella McEntaggert 1-00, Mia Duffy 0-01, Katie Murphy 0-01, Sarah Gilmore 0-01.

LOUTH: Rebecca Lambe Fegan, Aine Carolan, Caoimhe Boyle, Caitlin O’ Reilly, Ella Mc Entaggert, Louise Johnson, Laoise Mc Elroy, Ciara Nic Criosta, Mia Duffy, Abi Keenan, Seona Halligan, Katie Murphy, Sarah Gilmore, Roisin Maguire, Rachel Leonard.

Subs: Kerry Ann Darcy, Sinead Kneel, Evelyn Donnelly, Emily Johnson, Ava Briscoe, Amy Farrell, Enya Kampes, Lainey Mc Cormack, Meabh Fee, Ciara Lennon, Leah Mc Ardle, Kaylin Nugent, Saule Juraityte, Eimear Fee, Zoe Gardiner.

OFFALY: Ciara Glacken, Nicole Buckley, Ava Dolan, Liadhan Murray, Kiah Farrelly, Shauna Slattery, Sinead Todd, Emma Hand, Hannah Cronin, Ciara Walsh, Meadhbh O’Brien, Annie Heavin, Marie Doyle, Becky Watkins, Saoirse McGuinness.

Subs: Niamh Phelan, Moya Ibbotson, Chloe Mulholland, Katie Dunne, Rebecca O’Connor, Sarah Murphy, Lauren Kelly.

Referee: Lorraine O’Sullivan (Dublin).

Report: Aisling Clery (Leinster LGFA)

Photos with thanks to Warren Matthews.