Louth advance to Leinster Minor B Final

Louth 4-14 Laois 1-9

Louth advanced to Leinster Ladies Minor Final after this 14-point victory over Laois in Ratheniska last Wednesday night.

Laois had been hoping to emulate the senior team who beat Louth in the All Ireland quarter finals at the weekend. But a 15-minute blitz just after half time saw Louth outscore Laois by 2-6 to 0-2 to take a 3-11 to 0-8 lead into the second half water break after a closely fought first half.

Louth raised the green flag with their first attack of the match and just managed to maintain their noses in front, despite Laois having more shots at goal then the visitors. Some excellent free taking from Laois forwards kept them in touch, but Louth were able to nick a few scores on the counter-attack to take a 1-5 to 0-6 lead into half time.

But two goals spaced 6 minutes apart early in that second half set Louth on their way to establish a comprehensive lead by the time the referee blew for the second half water break. They led by 3-11 to 0-8 at that stage.

But to Laois’ credit they refused to let the heads drop and converted a penalty to close that gap to 9 points. But Louth finished the game by scoring another 1-3 to seal a place in that Leinster final, with Laois taking on Offaly next week.


Louth: Rachel Leonard 2-0, Abi Keenan 0-5, Sarah Gilmore 0-4 (0-2fs), Seona Halligan and Katie Murphy 1-1 each, Clara Nic Criosta, Mia Duffy and Roisin Maguire 0-1 each

Laois: Kelly O’Neill 1-5 (1-0pen, 0-5fs), Orla Hennessy, Aisling Hennessy, Fiona Fennessy and Niamh Conroy 0-1 each

LOUTH: Rebecca Lambe Fagan; Amy Farrell, Caoimhe Boyle, Caitlin O’Reilly; Ella McEntaggert, Louise Johnson, Emily Johnson; Clara Nic Criosta, Mia Duffy; Abi Keenan, Seona Halligan, Katie Murphy; Sarah Gilmore, Roisin Maguire, Rachel Leonard.

LAOIS: Aoibhe Brennan (Timahoe); Heather Bennett (Timahoe), Sarah Touhy (Timahoe), Meabh Gallagher (St Brigid’s); Ava Lawlor (Sarsfields), Georgina Donovan (Graiguecullen), Ellen Donoghue (Ballyroan); Anna Lalor (The Heath), Eleanor Healy (Park/Ratheniska); Orla Hennessey (Timahoe), Aisling Hennessy (The Heath), Fiona Fennessy (St Brigid’s); Grainne Lalor (Sarsfields), Kelly O’Neill (Graiguecullen), Ciara Crowley (St Paul’s).

Subs: Emily Corbet (Clonaslee/St Manman’s) for G. Lalor (39m), Niamh Conroy (St Paul’s) for Healy (47m), Laura Dempsey (Timahoe) for Bennett (47m), Jasmine Kinsella (Graiguecullen) for Touhy (49m)