Kilkerely take Intermediate title in great team performance

Kilkerely Emmets 3-17 Gleann Mhairtin 1-11

Kilkerely turned in a splendid team performance winning the Intermediate  championship final on Sunday. Very much the underdogs going into this final the management and players got it exactly right in the way they went about this final.

Playing with a strong wind in the first half they established an 0-8 to 1 point lead early in the first half with Ciara Lennon contributing 4 of those points. A goal from Sarah Maguire brought Gleann Mhairtin back into contention  and at half time Kilkerley led by 3 points; 0-11 to 1-5.

Against the the elements in the second half Kilkerely upped the tempo and three goals in the third quarter set them up for the victory. Two goals coming from Ciara Sharkey and another from player of the match Ciara Lennon. They lead 3-13 to 1-7 at the second water break and maintained that lead throughout despite the fighting efforts of the Monasterboice & Tullyallen girls who never gave up the battle.

Congratulations to Kilkerely who will move up to the Senior ranks next season.

Kilkerely Squad: Eimear Mc Enteggart, Aoife Clarke, Blanaid Crawley, Sinead Kneel, Sofia Stitt, Leah Hoey, Enya Kampes, Claire Clifford, Rachel McNally 0-2, Fiona O’Neill 0-1, Ella Mc Enteggart 0-2, Jade McKeown 0-1, Anne Marie Kane, Ciara Lennon 1-7, Ciara Sharkey 2-4, Chloe Conlon, Eimear Geoghegan, Lucy Litchfield, Eabha McEnaney, Aisling Quigley, Brigh McEnteggart, Mary Byrne, Katie Clarke, Tara Litchfield, Clodagh Sharkey, Niamh Cawley, Grainne Lynch, Fionnuala Kirby, Ava Landy, Caoimhe Daly, Sarah Lawrence, Kerri Litchfield, Caoibhean Brady, Blaitin McFadden, Caragh Brady,  Emily McElroy,  Abbie McElroy, Emily Hoey, Aoife McGee. Subs used. Aisling Quigley, Brigh McEnteggart, Eimear Geoghegan. Eabha McEneaney, Lucy Lithchfield.

Gleann Mhairtin: Rachel Goodwin, Katie Whelan, Yvonne Brennan, Katie Carolan, Shauna Johnson, Rebecca Carolan, Aine Carolan, Aoife Russell, Rececca Tully, Katie Murphy, Rachel Leonard, Sarah Maguire, Marcella Molloy, Mari Clair Fahy, Mary McKeever. Lilly Winters, Eili Ryan, Katie Ryan, Aoife O’Rourke, SaraJane Hughes, Nicole Tully.