Win for Gleann Mhairtin but Clans progress to Intermediate semi-finals

Gleann Mhairtin 4-08 Clan na Gael 1-13

Clan na Gael progress to the Intermediate Championship semi-finals despite coming off second best in a highly entertaining encounter in Monasterboice on Sunday morning.

Gleann Mhairtin knew they needed an 11-point win to overtake the Clans in the group table and came close to pulling it off with an excellent display of attacking football. The Clans were the first to score with Emily Norton and Cara McKeever on target with early points, but the Mairtins showed their intent and established a lead they would not relinquish with early goals from Rachel Leonard and Katie Murphy. At half-time they led by 2-02 to 0-06.

Two further second half goals by Rachel Leonard and Katie Murphy and points from Leonard (3) Sarah Maguire (2), Aoife Russell (2) and Marcella Molloy saw the Gleann Mhairtin girls stretch their lead to 8 points with less than 5 minutes remaining. However Clan na Gael kept fighting with Emily Norton, Shannen McLoughlin and Ciara Woods constant threats in attack.

Some great saves from Mia Rogers in the Clans goal prevented the Monasterboice/Tullyallen girls from establishing the elusive 11-point lead, and a late scrambled goal from Cara McKeever, who was just back from a 10 minute spell in the sin-bin, closed the gap for the Clans and secured their semi-final spot.

The group finished on a 3-way tie with Clan na Gael, Kilkerley and Gleann Mhairtin all tied on 6 points each. Score difference in the games between the three teams meant Clans & Kilkerley advance to the semi-finals.

Gleann Mhairtin: Rachel Goodwin, Jill Kenny, Irene Noone, Katie McGinn, Shauna Johnson, Emma Johnson, Lilly Winters, Louise McKeever, Mary McKeever, Sarah Maguire, Katie Murphy, Marie-Clair Fahy, Katie Ryan, Rachel Leonard, Aoife Russell. Subs: Rebecca Tully, Marcella Molloy.

Clan na Gael: Mia Rogers, Janine Kelly, Therese Curran, Daramay Fitzpatrick, Sinead McGill, Kathy Reilly, Gillian Reilly, Shannen McLoughlin, Pamela Campbell, Sinead O’Hanlon, Alannah McLoughlin, Emily Norton, Grace Smith, Ciara Woods, Cara McKeever.